Dollar General Corporation
Jun 8, 2005

Dollar General to Present at Upcoming Conferences

GOODLETTSVILLE, Tenn.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--June 8, 2005--Dollar General Corporation (NYSE:DG) will present to the investment community at two upcoming conferences. Webcasts and supporting slides of each presentation can be accessed live on Dollar General's Web site at www.dollargeneral.com, in the "Investing" section at "Conference calls and Investor events." The replay of each presentation will be available for two weeks after the original presentation. The following is a list of the conferences and the dates and times of Dollar General's presentations:


Conference                          Date              Time
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Credit Suisse First Boston          Monday, June 13   1:45 p.m. EDT
6th Annual Retail, Apparel/Footwear,                  (12:45 p.m. CDT)
Food/Drug And Restaurant Conference

William Blair & Company's           Thursday, June 23  2:50 p.m. EDT
25th Annual Growth Stock Conference                    (1:50 p.m. CDT)

About Dollar General

Dollar General is a Fortune 500® discount retailer with 7,596 neighborhood stores as of May 27, 2005. Dollar General stores offer convenience and value to customers by offering consumable basic items that are frequently used and replenished, such as food, snacks, health and beauty aids and cleaning supplies, as well as a selection of basic apparel, housewares and seasonal items at everyday low prices. The Company store support center is located in Goodlettsville, Tennessee. Dollar General's Web site can be reached at www.dollargeneral.com.



CONTACT: Dollar General Corporation, Goodlettsville
Investor Contact:
Emma Jo Kauffman, 615-855-5525
or
Media Contact:
Tawn Earnest, 615-855-5209

SOURCE: Dollar General Corporation